?

Log in

No account? Create an account
ideas? - The Anti-Sweatshop Community [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
Anti-Sweatshops

[ Favored Media | Sweatshop Watch ]
[ Community Info | User? ]
[ Past Discourse | Archive ]

Links
[Links:| || National Labor Committee || China Labor Watch || Co-op America || Clean Clothes Campaign || National Mobilization Against Sweatshops || United Students Against Sweatshops || UNITE HERE! || Ain't I a Woman? || Sweatshop Q & A || Workers Rights Consortium ]

ideas? [Sep. 14th, 2006|06:50 pm]
The Anti-Sweatshop Community

anti_sweatshops

[longgrift]
Hey Everyone,

I'm wicked new to this community. Anyway, I was wondering if there was any information out there about sweatshops and feminism or good resources about feminism in developing countries? I have an independent project for my Women's Studies course and I'm brainstorming now.

-Char
LinkReply

Comments:
[User Picture]From: lenagogan
2006-09-15 06:15 am (UTC)
Uhm. I wrote a 19 pg paper on Women in the U.S. Garment Industry with a 5 pg bibliography. Here are some good places to start looking:

ALF-CIO. “Worker's Rights are Women's Rights.” Working Women in the Global Economy, 2006. <http://www.aflcio.org/issues/jobseconomy/women/global/workersrights.cfm>.

Athreya, Bama. “Trade Is a Women's Issue.” Foreign Policy in Focus: International Labor Rights Fund, Vol. 7, No. 15, December 2002. <http://www.laborrights.org/publications/tradewomen1202.pdf>, pg. 1.

Encyclopædia Britannica. "International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union." Encyclopædia Britannica Online, 2006. <http://search.eb.com/eb/article-9042593>.

Encyclopædia Britannica. "Women's Trade Union League." Encyclopædia Britannica Online, 2006. <http://search.eb.com/eb/article-9125097>.

Halsall, Paul. “Harriet Robinson: Lowell Mill Girls.” Modern History Sourcebook, August 1997. <http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/robinson-lowell.html>.

International Labour Organization. “What's wrong with EPZ jobs?” Labour and social issues relating to export processing zones, 21 September 1999. <http://www.ilo.org/public/english/dialogue/govlab/legrel/tc/epz/reports/epzrepor_w61/3_3.htm>.

International Trade Data System. “Maquiladoras.” 23 April 2004. <http://www.itds.treas.gov/maquiladora.html>.


Mexico Solidarity Network. “2004-Femicides in Ciudad Juárez.” <http://www.mexicosolidarity.org/special%20reports/2004-femicides%20in%20ciudad%20juarez/index.html>.

Planting Stitches. “Organization.” <http://www.plantingstitches.org/organization.htm>.

Project Alabama. <http://www.projectalabama.com/index.htm>.

Rapoport, Adam. “T (Shirts) and A: Hot women, good politics. How does clothing maverick Dov Charney of American Apparel do it?” GQ, June 2004. <http://www.americanapparel.net/presscenter/articles/20040601gq.html>.

United Nations. “International Women’s Day: Looking Back.” <http://www.un.org/events/women/iwd/2006/history.html>.

Weronika, American Apparel. “Roar For Freedom on International Women's Day.” Daily Update, 8 March 2006. <http://www.americanapparel.net/presscenter/dailyupdate/dailyup.asp?d=15&t=221>

Also check out the UNITE HERE! website.

Sweatshops are obviously a feminist issue as the primary workers are women, but not a lot has been written about it, especially modern-day U.S. garment workers. The U.S. has a lot of great union history that is tragically not in existance today.
(Reply) (Thread)